Last postcards for 2013 and we are caught up

We are almost caught up with my postcards I received before starting this blog 🙂 We covered my Japan postcards in my blog ‘My xmas present. So next up … Malaysia 🙂

There are over 3 000 postcrossing members out of a population of 28 million. I received one card from Malaysia from Jessie. The postcard is a view of Kuala Lumpur and there is some interesting buildings. Note the blue-roofed building in the foreground. Malaysia is definitely on my ‘Countries to visit’ – list.

MY-174405

 

Next is the Netherlands. The Netherlands have over 30 000 users out of a population of 16 million! That is 10 times more members than Malaysia out of a population half the size. That is impressive. I also received this postcard through postcrossing and it was sent by Marijn. It shows a field of tulips – I thought it was beautiful and it went on my favorites list 🙂

NL-2146803

 

Now we move on to Russia. Russia has 53 000 members out of a population of 140 million. They are also the country with the most postcrossing members. The latest postcard is on my blog ‘USA and Russia’. I have received two other through postcrossing. One shows a Siberian tiger and a little baby one – too cute for words 🙂 I received this postcard from Elena who lives in Nahodka.

RU-2120645

 

The next postcard came from Yuriy who is living in Perm. It shows an old church as well as some other tourist attractions. Check out the small bottom picture – it is an ice sculpture 🙂

RU-2120659

 

Next country is Spain. They have 4 000 members out of a population of 46 million. This postcard was a direct swap from Juan. He uses postcards to teach his children where countries are om a map. I thought that was a brilliant idea 🙂 The postcard shows a castle called Castillo De La Aljaferia. It is one of my favorite postcards 🙂

DS Spain 1

 

Second last country – Turkey. They have 5 000 users out of a population of 77 million. I received this postcard through postcrossing and it is from Sezin who lives in Istanbul. The postcard shows the coastal town of Alanya – and it looks idyllic 🙂

TR-157649

 

 

My postcard from the Ukraine is on my blog ‘My xmas present’.

And last – the USA. My latest card from the USA is on my blog ‘USA and Russia’. I also received a postcard from Jan through postcrossing. She and her husband love to visit Leavenworth and she sent me a postcard from there. and here is where my education begins regarding the USA – I only knew about the military prison and I never thought that it was also a very beautiful town.

US-2539823

 

And so – as we count down to the end of 2013 we have also caught up on all my postcards received so far 🙂 Now I have to wait for the postman to get back from holiday … I am not a patient person …

My New Year’s resolution is to start at the A’s and collect at least one postcard from every country currently a member of postcrossing. And if I can get more than one – yippee 🙂 So if anyone wants to do a direct swap or find me on postcrossing – my username is firedragonza.

If you are interested in the countries that are part of postcrossing check out this link:  http://www.postcrossing.com/explore/countries

chart

 

So goodbye 2013 – hello 2014 – and may you bring many many postcards 🙂

This entry was posted in Postcrossing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment